Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Understanding Pattern Skill Levels

Red Heart patterns follow the the Craft Yarn Council (CYC) guidelines for skill levels for both knit and crochet. Our patterns use these skill levels to help knitters and crocheters determine if a pattern is appropriate for their level of expertise.

The skill levels are intended as a helpful guide. Do not be afraid to try a pattern in a harder skill level than you have attempted previously.

Skill levels are shown by filling in a four-section bar, and labeling it according to how many sections are filled in.


Projects for first-time stitchers using basic stitches for crocheters and knit and purl stitches for knitters. Minimal shaping.
Beginner crochet patterns and beginner knitting patterns


Projects using basic stitches, repetitive stitch patterns, simple color changes, and simple shaping and finishing.
Easy crochet patterns and easy knitting patterns


Projects with a variety of stitches and techniques such as basic lace patterns, mid-level shaping and finishing. Crochet patterns will also include basic color patterns. Knitting patterns will also include basic cables, simple intarsia, double-pointed needles and knitting in the round.
Intermediate crochet patterns and intermediate knitting patterns


Projects using advanced techniques and stitches including detailed shaping and refined finishing. Crochet patterns will include intricate stitch patterns, techniques and dimensions including non-repeating patterns, multi-color techniques, fine threads, and small hooks. Knitting patterns will include short rows, Fair Isle, more intricate intarsia, cables, lace patterns, and numerous color changes.
Experienced crochet patterns and experienced knitting patterns

Below: LW4502 Twilight Shells Throw Free Crochet Pattern

Understanding Pattern Skill Levels